Why I Don’t Care About Another Borderlands Game

borderlands 2 logo

Relatively recently, Gearbox announced that they have been working on yet another Borderlands game, dubbed ‘Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel.’ Not only is the name atrocious, but the fact that it isn’t launching on any next-gen consoles is disappointing, though unsurprising. Since this next Borderlands game is coming out on last-gen consoles (Xbox 360 and Ps3), they are easily able to cut and paste assets and such from previous games into this new game. Like the previous entries, I’m sure this game will play just fine. My main reason for staying out is because Borderlands really hasn’t changed at all since the original launched in 2009.

I greatly enjoyed the original ‘Borderlands’ on the Xbox 360. I played a ton of it, both on my own, and with various co-op partners. I cannot say the same about ‘Borderlands 2.’ There was something about that game that just did not pull me in like original. I got bored about 15 hours in and simply stopped playing. I tried going back to it some time later with a couple of co-op partners, and that didn’t last long, either. I think the main thing that held me back from enjoying Borderlands 2 was the extreme sense of same-ness. I felt like I was playing an expansion of the original Borderlands. The only real differences were the different playable characters and new villain. The writing was decent and the gameplay remained just fine, but it just didn’t grab me.

borderlands presequel moon

I fear this will be the downfall of ‘Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel.’ From what I’ve seen, the only real difference from the previous games is the locale; the moon. While this offers some different sights and some slightly adjusted physics (you can jump higher), this does not make me excited to return to the world of Pandora, or it’s moon, for that matter. They could prove me wrong and deliver something new, fresh, and exciting. But I’m not betting on it.

Leave a Reply

